Been a Little Busy

July 2, 2010

So much has happened since my last post… and over the next two days, I’ll publish all of the posts that I should have put up in June.

First, we’ll visit the Cocktail Party, the signature event of a golf tournament. I had a thousand-dollar budget, which made me a kid in a candy store! Of course we had to integrate the golf theme, and I found the preppiest plaid linen in kelly green and aqua shades, which made me think of the beach…so I wound up with a golf-at-the-beach theme. Pretty perfect for a hot summertime golf party, no?

I knew I wanted to build on the oceanside aspect of the theme and use golf as the accent, so I planned vases filled with golf balls submerged in water with floating candles, vases filled with sand sprouting coral and dune grass paired together on small tables and hi-boys. Tall vases filled with golf balls had glass and net bouys hanging from them, and tall vases filled with sand and shells. To emulate the plaid linens that I used on the specialty stations, I made plaid runners from chair ties and wide ribbons. I placed floral arrangements atop vases filled with sand and sea glass, and used all kelly green votives.

The menu signs were an actual picture of the plaid linen and a shadow outline of a shell with the menu item description in a white frame. There were even seashell candy favors for the wives, with a cute sign that said, “Behind every great man is a great woman…” and thanked the wives for letting us steal their husbands for three days straight. The food was incredible, with a roast suckling pig, handmade fish tacos, literally a ton of shrimp cocktail and imported oysters, beautiful intricate desserts, crab cocktail, firecracker shrimp, carved beef tenderloin, and strawberries au poivre. Which is my new favorite dessert.

Above the seafood bars and fish taco station, I hung actual fishing nets and filled them with sea glass-colored paper lanterns with pinch lights (remember these from the Opus One dinner?) suspended in the middle. As the sun set, people began to notice they were lit from within and kept looking for the power cords. Heehee 🙂 Pinch lights were also used in the giant wrought iron fish so it would ‘glow’, and submerged in vases filled with cracked ice gel, which we bought for the Opus dinner but didn’t use because it looked too modern. Which made it perfect for this party!

While the players and their wives really show up to this party for the food, the rockin’ band, the vodka slide and open bars…I was so proud to hear them say it was the prettiest the room has been for this event, and proud to still be receiving compliments three weeks after the party! It was a LOT of work. But I had fabulous help. And I can’t wait to do it again 🙂

Pics below, Party On!

One Response to “Been a Little Busy”

  1. […] a fact filled tour lead by eddie of his favor vendors which was inspiring and lively, ashley & i chatted with e & j a bit about the fun to be had in the design world. then i set off on […]

Leave a Reply

